2021 Prometheus Award Ceremony and Panel Discussion

with Prometheus winner Barry Longyear, Reason editor-in-chief Katherine Mangu-Ward, Reason book editor Jesse Walker, and LFS president William H. Stoddard)

"A beacon of libertarian freedom" - Barry B. Longyear's Best Novel acceptance speech for The Hook, Book Five of The War Whisperer

F. Paul Wilson's Hall of Fame acceptance speech for "Lipidleggin'"

Do you love liberty and Science Fiction?
Do you dream of a free future?

Are you a fan of freedom-loving fiction by writers like these?
Robert HeinleinPoul AndersonVernor VingeF. Paul WilsonLois McMaster BujoldKen MacLeodCory DoctorowJo WaltonGeorge OrwellSarah HoytNeal StephensonAyn Rand

If so, then join the Libertarian Futurist Society!

Help nominate fiction and vote for the only annual award for best pro-freedom fiction: the Prometheus Awards for Best Novel and Best Classic Fiction, plus occasional Special Awards. All the writers listed above (and many more) have won Prometheus Awards for their fiction.

"The Prometheus Award is an interesting case ... Four decades is an impressive achievement.
The current process is an interesting mixture of popular award (all members of the Society can nominate works for any category) and juried (committees for each category use ranked ballots to produce the finalist slate) ... The results are as remarkable as the award's longevity ... the LFS ranges far outside the borders of conventional American libertarian thought ... with equally diverse selections on the nominee lists.
This [past winners and finalists'] list is, I think, a reminder of just why following this particular award can be rewarding for readers of all stripes"

—"40 Years of the Prometheus Award," a TOR.com feature-column by James Davis Nicoll (April 2019)

"It is 2020, and though socialism is again in vogue... libertarian SF is showing no signs of waning.... Libertarian-leaning authors have had an outsized, lasting influence on the field. Libertarians even have their own SF literature awards. Each year, the Prometheus and Prometheus Hall of Fame awards are given out by the Libertarian Futurist Society, a tradition dating back to the late 1970s. Instead of a trophy, winners are given a one-ounce gold coin “representing free trade and free minds.”

"The soil of speculative fiction has the right nutrients for the flourishing of libertarian values...Unlike most ideologies that advocate forms of protectionism and Luddite restrictionism, the libertarian outlook values choice, freedom, and market solutions.... Another element (in sf), certainly, is a general openness to radical new ideas and an instinctive rejection of stale convention and custom... Perhaps this is why so much of SF expresses itself as dystopian fiction, a genre which, by its very nature, cannot but take on a libertarian flavor. Totalitarianism, war, and wide-scale oppression is almost always carried out by state force. Liberation, accordingly, must come in the form of negative rights — that is, "freedom from" — and voluntarism."

—-- "The Libertarian History of Science Fiction," by Jordan Alexander Hill, Quillette (published June 12, 2020, on quillette.com)

"As a long-time libertarian and science fiction fan, I consider my Libertarian Futurist Society membership one of the best deals around. How else would I learn of the new SF books that I'd be most likely to want to read? LFS dramatically reduces my search time--and that's very valuable to me."

Robert W. Poole, Founder and Past-President, Reason Foundation

The Libertarian Futurist Society was founded in 1982 to recognize and promote libertarian science fiction. The LFS is a tax-exempt nonprofit group with an international membership of libertarians and freedom-loving science fiction fans who believe cultural change is as vital as political change in achieving freedom. After all, imagination is the first step in envisioning a free future — and the peace, prosperity and progress that can take humankind to the stars. The LFS presents the annual Prometheus Award for Best Novel, the Prometheus Hall of Fame Award for best classic literary works of liberty and occasional Prometheus Special Awards for other categories (short fiction, dramatic presentations, life achievement and similar awards). From 1982 to 2015, we published the quarterly journal, Prometheus. Many of the issues and articles are now available here.

"People come to libertarianism through fiction. They come through Ayn Rand... Robert Heinlein.... L. Neil Smith.  When he established the Prometheus Awards, Smith was acknowledging the political contributions that fiction makes to libertarianism. He recognized its importance and influence, namely that it fire the imagination, it fires the vision of man and woman, and it is absolutely essential to inspire people."

—Author Wendy McElroy, at the 2000 Prometheus Worldcon awards

"Uniquely among political movements, many of libertarianism's most influential texts have been by SF writers... It seems likely that the influence of the (Libertarian SF) movement within sf will grow."

—- The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction

Join the Libertarian Futurist Society

If you enjoy fiction and science fiction that dramatizes the value of freedom, and are excited by the possibilities that a free society unleashes, then we invite you to become a part of LFS. If you are intrigued by libertarianism and futurism, and the cross-pollination between these two dynamic fields, consider this decentralized coalition of free spirits working to shape a free future.

To join, donate, or subscribe, please visit our membership and donation page.

To uphold the high standards of the Prometheus Awards, full members and above are responsible for obtaining and reading all the finalists in a category before casting their votes. If you wish to vote for the Prometheus Award for Best Novel and are willing to support the LFS at a higher level, consider becoming an LFS Sponsor or Benefactor.

The Libertarian Futurist Society is a nonprofit organization with federal tax-exempt status. If you would like to support our activities, please consider making a tax-deductible donation. Mail donation checks, marked "donation," to:

 Libertarian Futurist Society
650 Castro St. Suite 120-433
Mountain View, CA 94041

Or send a donation via credit card, using one of the PayPal donation options

Award Submissions

Publishers, authors and sf/fantasy fans may submit works of fiction for LFS consideration for all categories of the Prometheus Awards. For more details, what required information to submit and who to contact, please read this submission-guidelines letter.

New LFS outreach flyer

Help us raise our visibility and promote new memberships by downloading and printing this introductory LFS membership flyer (pdf). You can distribute it easily at upcoming conventions, which often have a place for free flyers and other literatures. Or better yet, print a few and hand them out personally to people you meet who might share our love of liberty, science fiction and a freer future.

Award Information

To inquire about serving on an awards committee or to nominate a book, please contact Michael Grossberg. For Hall of Fame Nominations, please contact Bill Stoddard.

Contact info

You can change your membership address by sending email to addresschange at lfs.org.

For general inquiries, send to "contact" at our domain (lfs.org), and someone will respond.

Officers and Directors

Current officers and directors are listed here.

Amazon and the Amazon logo and AmazonSmile and the AmazonSmile logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
All else copyright LFS 2003-2015
LFS.org is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, designed to provide a means for
sites an affiliate advertising program to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.