Libertarian Futurist Society

Home About Us Prometheus Prometheus Awards Press Releases Membership Information


Previous Press Releases

Libertarian Futurist Society to Honor F. Paul Wilson with Lifetime Achievement Award

Bestselling author F. Paul Wilson will receive a Special Prometheus Award for Lifetime Achievement from the Libertarian Futurist Society.

The LFS will present the rare Lifetime Achievement award to Wilson May 9 at Marcon, Ohio’s oldest and largest science fiction and fantasy convention, which will be held May 8-10, 2015, at the Hyatt Regency Columbus and Columbus Convention Center in Columbus, Ohio. (For more infornation, visit www.marcon.org)

Widely respected within the sf, horror and thriller fields and by fellow authors, Wilson has been a pioneering and innovative genre-crosser and boundary-smasher for four decades, in the process selling more than 6 million copies of his books.

Wilson, who made his first story sale in 1970 to Analog magazine, has been recognized often by the LFS over the decades. Wilson has won four Prometheus Awards – including the very first one presented in 1979 for his sf novel Wheels Within Wheels, also an inventive mystery.

In his Prometheus-winning science-fiction trilogy Healer, Wheels Within Wheels and An Enemy of the State, Wilson charts a far-flung saga about the LaNague Federation, a galactic association that replaces a repressive imperium with a philosophy of voluntary cooperation. Healer was inducted into the Prometheus Hall of Fame n 1990 and An Enemy of the State in 1991. The LaNague novels and related stories (collected in The Tery and Dydeetown World) dramatize a peaceful economic revolution establishing the federation’s policy of self-ownership, mutual consent, cooperation, free trade, honest (non-fiat) money, no taxes, and right of self-defense.

Wilson also won a Prometheus Award for Best Novel in 2004 for Sims, which explores foundational issues of individual rights. The novel is set in a future world of genetic engineering in which chimps have been altered and their intelligence enhanced enough to do manual labor as human-owned servants.

Libertarian Futurist Society leaders will present the award to Wilson in a public ceremony expected to be witnessed by about 1,000 Marcon attendees during the Saturday night May 9 masquerade, Marcon’s most popular annual program.

This will be the third such Lifetime award presented by the LFS. Poul Anderson received the first in 2001; Vernor Vinge (like Wilson, a major Marcon guest of honor this year) received the second in 2014. Both Anderson and Vinge are five-time Prometheus winners (including the lifetime award) and with this recognition, Wilson will join them as a five-time Prometheus winner.

The Society invites all members, well-wishers, and admirers of Wilson to attend. For more information, contact LFSatMarcon@lfs.org

For more information, contact LFS Board Chair Bill Stoddard at president@lfs.org.

Previous Press Releases

YearFinalistsWinnersOther News
2015     F. Paul Wilson, Lifetime Achievement
2014 Jan 2014 HOF April 2014 Best Novel Best Novel tie between Homeland and Nexus; Classic Fiction: Falling Free; Special Award for Leslie Fish May 6, Vernor Vinge, Lifetime Achievement
2013 April 2013 Best Novel and HOF, 7/20/2013: Pirate Cinema and Classic: Cryptonomicon  
2012 HOF: February, 2012, Best Novel: April, 2012 7/13/2012: tie between Ready Player One and The Freedom Maze; Classic: The Machine Stops Prometheus Newsletters Online
2011 HOF: March, 2011, Best Novel: April, 2011 7/4/2011: Darkship Thieves; Classic: 1984 Award Ceremony (YouTube)
2010 March, 2010 7/10/2010: The Unincorporated Man  
2009 March, 2009 7/06/2009: Little Brother  
2008 March, 2008 July 2008: Ha'penny and The Gladiator, plus a Special Award for V For Vendetta  
2007 March, 2007 September, 2007: Glasshouse  
2006 March, 2006 August, 2006: Learning the World and a Special Award for Serenity  
2005 March, 2005 August, 2005: The System of the World and Two Special Awards 10/04: Nominee list
2004 May, 2004 9/04: Sims  
2003 April 2003 8/03: Night Watch  
2002   9/02: Psychohistorical Crisis  
2001 April 2001 9/01: Forge of the Elders 6/01: Poul Anderson (Special Award)
2000 June 11, 2000    

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
All else copyright LFS 2003-2015
March, 2015